top of page

My Favourite Scrunchie - A Free Crochet Pattern




I’ve tried so many scrunchie patterns (I’ve even paid for some!), but this one is my all-time favourite. I hope you enjoy it, too! I think the key to this pattern is the tiny crochet hook. Larger hooks cause looser stitches that don’t hold their shape and tend to fall apart over time.


I call this my all-time favourite scrunchie pattern for a few reasons:

1. It uses one row and only one stitch for the whole pattern.

2. It works up crazy fast! Making it a great last-minute option for market prep.

3. It holds its shape and stays looking new for a long time.


You will need:

- 3.5mm crochet hook

- Bernat velvet yarn

- Ponytail holders





Here it is: the most simple scrunchie pattern ever!


Create a slip knot on your hook, then work a half double crochet stitch (or single

crochet for simplicity) around the elastic to attach the yarn.


Continue working half double crochet stitches all the way around the elastic. When you

get to the end, scrunch the stitches together to create room for more. The more

stitches you have, the more “waves” you will create around the scrunchie.


I’ve never ever counted stitches for this pattern. Simply continue working HDCs until

you’re satisfied with the look of your scrunchie. When you’re done, slip stitch to the top

of your first stitch, chain one, and tie off leaving a long tail (approx. 3 inches). Tie the

two tails together at the top of the scrunchie. Practice weaving in the ends so they

don’t come out after being worn several times - this is different for each person.


To download the PDF instructions to review offline, click here:

My Favourite Scrunchie - A Free Pattern
.
Download • 5.61MB



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page